2.5 Audits

2.5.1 Classification

  1. The three classes of audits within CBA are:

    1. Large Combined Audit;
    2. Small Combined Audit; and
    3. Specialty Audit.

  2. For an audit to be a complete and effective review of a company's operation it should normally be conducted as a combined audit (i.e., as a joint CBA and AM&M audit). The combined audit should be the norm for air operators of any size and complexity in operations and maintenance.
  3. The specialty audit is more suitable for smaller companies. This is due in part to the differing time requirements to complete operations and maintenance functional area reviews. Specialty audits conducted concurrently may be an alternative that provides some of the benefits of a combined audit while giving the audit teams the level of autonomy they need to manage their activities efficiently.

2.5.2 Large Combined Audit

  1. a national airline (705) air operator;
  2. an regional airline (705) air operator that has a mixed aircraft fleet with numerous aircraft types and a varied route structure; and
  3. a commuter (704) or an air taxi (703) air operator that has a diverse (including IFR and NVFR) operation

2.5.3 Small Combined Audit

  1. an airline (705) air operator that uses one or two aircraft;
  2. a commuter (704) or an air taxi (703) air operator operating within a region; and
  3. a private air operator (604).

2.5.4  Specialty Audit

  1. This is the most common regional audit, focusing on specialty areas with the CBA functional area.
  2. A CBA specialty audit will review one or more of the following specialty areas of a company:

    1. flight operations;
    2. cabin safety;
    3. dangerous goods; and
    4. aviation occupational safety and heath.
Date modified: