Aircraft Certification Standards

Aircraft Certification Standards is headed by the Chief, who reports to the Director, Standards Branch. The Division is composed of three sections:

  • Domestic Regulations
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Technical Projects

Aircraft Certification Standards performs a diversified and varied number of tasks that includes continuously analyzing the current Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), Standards, and Guidance and Advisory Materials as they relate to the aircraft certification function, developing rulemaking that improves aviation safety, and promoting the efficient and sustainable use of aviation as part of Canada's transportation system.

Aircraft Certification Standards interfaces with National Aircraft Certification and Regional Aircraft Certification to assist in the development and documentation of the basis of certification to be applied during aeronautical product certification, including the development and issuance of Special Conditions-Airworthiness, to address novel or unusual features, and Exemptions as may be necessary.

Aircraft Certification Standards personnel actively participate in the international harmonization processes. This is done through membership in committees and working groups, such as those set up by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and by foreign airworthiness authorities, such as the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). They also research issues related to aeronautical product safety, aircraft and engine environmental emissions, aircraft equipment technical specifications, participate in the development and implementation of various bilateral agreements and arrangements established with foreign countries or authorities, and develop advisory and guidance material related to current aircraft certification processes and design requirements.

What’s New?

Current Hot Topics

Date modified: