Text Versions of Images

Figure 1 Alternative text:

Figure 1: QMS Phases of an Oversight Program

Enclosed in a large circle, six squares are spaced around the inside of the circle. Each square represents one of the six phases of a QMS. Phases are ordered 1 to 6, with one arrow linking one phase to the next:

  1. Phase 1, QMS Design & Development (Mgmt. commitment, QMS policy/objectives, QMS Manual, IM & Records Control, Communication)
  2. Phase 2, QMS Implementation (Implementation Plan, QMS Resourcing, Employee Awareness)
  3. Phase 3, Program Design and Development (Requirements Definition, Resourcing and Competency Profile, Program Design and Development Review)
  4. Phase 4, Program Delivery (Training, SOPs, Systems/Tool/Tech, QC & Mgmt. supervision)
  5. Phase 5, Program Continuous Improvement (Quality Assurance, Employee Performance, Program Performance, Program Evaluation)
  6. Phase 6, QMS Continuous Improvement (Audit/Review, Continuous Monitoring, Feedback & Corrective Action)

Inside the circle, in the middle of the six squares, there are three overlapping small circles. Each circle represents one of the overlapping components of an oversight program:

  1. Rules & Regulations
  2. Oversight (Compliance, SMS/SeMS, Testing, Licenses/Permits)
  3. Enforcement

Figure 2 Alternative text

Figure 2: Levels of QMS within Transport Canada

Three rows or levels are represented within a large rectangle:

  • The top level represents the ADM S&S (Corporate Level) responsibilities in regards to QMS. At the ADM/Corporate level, QMS framework/policy objectives, principles and guidelines are established and communicated to modes. Information regarding performance and quality is reported back by the modes to enable continuous improvement.
  • The middle level represents the HQ Functional authority level. Four squares representing four “modes” are illustrated with arrows from each mode showing the bi-lateral flow of information between the top level (ADM S&S) and the bottom level (Regional Delivery). At the HQ Functional Authority level, modal specific quality objectives, standards and expectations are provided to programs and to regions. These are broken down by the type of oversight activity - specific SOPs, tools, training, etc. Information regarding performance and quality is reported back based on reporting, Quality Assurance (QA) and Quality Control (QC) activities.
  • The bottom level shows one rectangle which represents the Regional Delivery level. Regions are responsible for the delivery of programs in accordance with requirements and are responsible for supervisory/ Quality Control (QC) oversight. Information regarding performance and quality is reported back through reporting and QC activities.
Date modified: