Getting your vessel of 24 metres and above inspected and certified

From Transport Canada

All large commercial marine vessels of 24 metres and above must be inspected and certified. In order to operate your Canadian-flagged vessel, you must have a valid Inspection Certificate.

This is done through the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program (DSIP): third-party organizations do the inspections under the authority of Transport Canada.

On this page…

Delegated Statutory Inspection Program

Under Transport Canada's Delegated Statutory Inspection Program, inspection and certification of large commercial vessels must be done by a Recognized Organization (RO), as stated in Transport Canada's policy Certification of Vessels of 24 Metres in Length and Above.

Download PDF

PDF version
(PDF, 107 KB)

An RO is a classification society that has an Authorization Agreement with Transport Canada to inspect and certify vessels.

List of Recognized Organizations

To request inspection and certification services, contact any of the following Recognized Organizations:

 American Bureau of Shipping
Flag Contact
Michel Plamondon
Country Manager, Canada
Americas Division
502-275 Slater Street
Ottawa (ON) K1P 5H9   Canada
Tel: 1-613-569-5446
Fax: 1-613-569-5000
Mob: 1-613-222-9092
Email: mplamondon@eagle.org
Web site: www.eagle.org
Western Canada
Eugene Cai
Principal Surveyor, Vancouver Port
303-850 Harbourside Drive
North Vancouver (BC) V7P 0A3   Canada
Tel: 1-604-986-0811
Fax: 1-604-986-0819
Mob: 1-604-760-0359
Email: ecai@eagle.org
Eastern Canada
Neil Britt
Principal Surveyor – Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada
160 Meadow Drive  
Darlings Island, NB, E5N 6R3
Tel: (506) 651-3784
Email: nbritt@eagle.org
CC:  ABSToronto@eagle.org
Bureau Veritas
André Laroche
Vice-President, Principal Surveyor for Canada
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
14-410 Rue Saint-Nicolas
Montreal, QC, H2Y 2P5
Tel: (514) 288-6515
Tel: (418) 878-2678
Cel: (581) 888-7075
E-mail: andre.laroche@ca.bureauveritas.com
Jocelyn Roussel
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
14-410 Rue Saint-Nicolas
Montreal, QC, H2Y 2P5
Tel : (514) 288-6515
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (438) 823-8285
E-mail: jocelyn.roussel@ca.bureauveritas.com
Darrell Ashley
Principal Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
16 Oxer Close
Hammond Plains, NS, B4B 2B8
Cell: 902-209-3887
E-mail: Darrell.ashley@ca.bureauveritas.com
Gilles-Etienne Cote
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
152 rue Doris Lussier
Saint Augustin de Desmaures, QC G3A 2T8
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (418) 609-5972
E-mail: gilles-etienne.cote@ca.bureauveritas.com
Hervé Drévillon
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
152 rue Doris Lussier
Saint Augustin de Desmaures, QC G3A 2T8
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (418) 802-6258
E-mail: herve.drevillon@ca.bureauveritas.com
Vadim Airiants
Principal Surveyor
801 - 535 Thurlow Street,
Vancouver, BC, V6E 3L2
Tel : (604) 689-1355
Cell.: (604) 729-1948
Fax : (604) 689-1356
E-mail: vadim.airiants@ca.bureauveritas.com
Rogier Rust
Principal Surveyor
801 - 535 Thurlow Street,
Vancouver, BC, V6E 3L2
Tel : (604) 689-1355
Cell.: (778) 994-2824
Fax : (604) 689-1356
E-mail: rogier.rust@ca.bureauveritas.com
ClassNK
Mr. Ryosuke Okabe
Country Manager
902 - 700 Pender St. W
Vancouver, BC, V6C 1G8
Tel: (604) 685-2121
Fax: (604) 685-7631
Cell: (604) 230-9687
E-Mail: r-okabe@classnk.or.jp
Office: vc@classnk.or.jp
DNV GL
Khodabakhsh (Bakhshi) Farsi
Station Manager Halifax
900-99 Wyse Road
Dartmouth, NS, B3A 4S5
Tel: (902) 464-0905
Fax: (902) 464-0516
Cell: (902) 221-2738
E-mail: Khodabakhsh.Farsi@dnvgl.com
Office: halifax.maritime@dnvgl.com
Burhan Ozan
Station Manager
100 - 4100 Molson
Montreal, QC, H1Y 3N1
Tel: (514) 861-0660
Fax: (514) 861-7557
Cell: (514) 974-1658
E-mail: burhan.ozan@dnvgl.com
Office: montreal.maritime@dnvgl.com
Paul Kelly
Senior Surveyor
200 – 121 Kelsey Drive
St. John's, NL, A1B 0L2
Tel: (709) 733-3131
Fax: (709) 733-3130
Cell: (709) 687-1582
E-mail: paul.kelly@dnvgl.com
Office: st.johns.maritime@dnvgl.com
Sunil Kale
Station Manager
804 - 1112 Pender St. W.
Vancouver, BC, V6E 2S1
Tel: (604) 689-7425
Fax: (604) 689-7450
Cell: (604) 657 9149
E-mail: sunil.kale@dnvgl.com
Office: vancouver.maritime@dnvgl.com
Korean Register
Kwan-Soo Do
General Manager, Vancouver Office
205 E 8th Street
North Vancouver, BC, V7L 1Y9
Tel: (604) 770-1227
Cell: (778) 986-7194
E-mail: ksdo@krs.co.kr
Office: vancouver@krs.co.kr
Jung-kun Lee 
General Manager
Convention & Legislation Service Team
36, Myeongji Ocean City 9-ro,
Gangseo-gu, Busan, 618-814,
Rep. of Korea
Tel: +82 70 8799 8320
Cell: +82 10 3594 8042
Fax: +82 70 8799 8339
E-mail: convention@krs.co.kr
Lloyd's Register
Barry Shepherd
Marine Business Development Manager
Great Lakes, Quebec and Atlantic Canada
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
506 - 5420 North Service Road,
Burlington, ON, L7L 6C7
Tel: (905) 631-9420
Fax: (905) 631-9430
E-mail: barry.shepherd@lr.org
Ben Thompson
Marine Business Development Manager
Western Canada
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
501 - 221 West Esplanade,
North Vancouver, BC, V7M 3J3
Tel: (604) 985-0477
Fax: (604) 985-0637
E-mail: ben.thompson@lr.org
RINA Services, SpA
Richard Breton
Country Manager
RINA Services SpA
605-6020 Jean Talon Est,
Montreal, QC H1S 3B1
Tel: 514-866-1801
Fax: 514-866-1259
Cell: 418-564-3703
E-mail: Richard.Breton@rina.org
Office: montreal.office@rina.org
Laval J. Ho-Wo-Cheong
Marine Manager
RINA Classification and Certification Canada Limited
605 - 6020 Jean Talon Est,
Montreal, QC, H1S 3B1
Tel: (514) 866-9494
Fax: (514) 866-1259
Cell: (514) 431-3910
E-mail: laval.howocheong@rina.org

How to request an exemption from the DSIP

Transport Canada recognizes that certain vessels may not be able to enroll in the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program. This may be due to factors such as economic hardship or the refusal by a Recognized Organization to provide services (for reasons such as your vessel's construction material or age). In such rare cases, owners may apply for exemption from the DSIP by:

  1. Following the Procedures exemption from the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program
  2. Filling out the form Application For Exemption From Required Participation In The Delegated Statutory Inspection Program.
  3. Sending your form with supporting documentation to DSIP-PDIO@tc.gc.ca

When an exemption is granted, Transport Canada will offer vessel inspection and certification services in relation to the specific vessel.

U.S. Coast Guard and Transport Canada recently signed a Memorandum of Cooperation for oversight of mutually recognized organizations

The US Coast Guard and Transport Canada have recently signed a new Memorandum of Cooperation (MOC) that provides a framework for sharing and coordinating information from third party recognized organizations (ROs) that carry out inspection and certification activities of commercial vessels on behalf of both governments.

Currently, the US Coast Guard and Transport Canada each have agreements with the following classification societies: American Bureau of Shipping, Lloyd’s Register, DNV-GL, Bureau Veritas, RINA Services and Class NK.  Sharing these ROs’ general performance increases the scope of each government’s oversight activities. It also relieves the regulatory burden on the ROs by reducing their need to duplicate oversight activities.

This MOC aligns with the International Maritime Organization’s (IMO) Code for Recognized Organizations, which took effect on 1 January 2015.  We expect the MOC can also serve as a model for other IMO member states.

Please direct your questions about the MOC to Mr. John Hannon, US Coast Guard Office of Commercial Vessel Compliance, (John.J.Hannon@uscg.mil) and the Manager of SMS and Authorizations, Transport Canada Marine Safety, (dsip-pdio@tc.gc.ca).

Contact us

If you have specific questions, contact us in one of the following ways:

If you have comments and concerns relating to Domestic Vessel Regulatory Oversight, use the contact information below:

Mailing address:

Transport Canada
Marine Safety (AMSA)
Tower C, Place de Ville
330 Sparks Street, 11th Floor
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0N5

Email: insp.stand-norm.insp@tc.gc.ca
Telephone: 1-855-859-3123 or 613-991-3135
Teletypewriter / TDD: 1-888-675-6863
Facsimile: 613-991-4818

Date modified: