Certifying Vessels over 24 meters - Delegated Statutory Inspection Program (DSIP)

What is the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program?

Transport Canada's Delegated Statutory Inspection Program (DSIP) is the mandatory process of having your vessel certified and inspected. As stated in Transport Canada's policy Certification of Vessels of 24 Metres in Length and Above, these services must be performed by a Recognized Organization (RO). A RO is a classification society that holds a valid Authorization Agreement with Transport Canada and is recognized by the Minister to perform inspection and certification services on their behalf.

Your Responsibilities

In order to operate your Canadian-flagged vessel, you must have a valid Inspection Certificate. To request inspection and certification services, contact any of the Recognized Organizations.

Exemptions from DSIP

As of January 1, 2014 DSIP is mandatory for ALL vessels of 24 meters in length and above - classed or non-classed. However, Transport Canada recognizes that certain vessels may not be able to enroll in DSIP. This may be due to factors such as economic hardship or RO refusal to provide services (for reasons such as the construction material of your vessel, or the age of your vessel). In such rare cases, owners may apply for exemption from DSIP by:

  1. Following the Procedures exemption from the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program
  2. Filling out the form Application For Exemption From Required Participation In The Delegated Statutory Inspection Program.
  3. Sending your form with supporting documentation to DSIP-PDIO@tc.gc.ca

In special circumstances where an exemption is provided, TC will continue to offer vessel inspection and certification services in place of a RO.

Please contact your Marine Safety Office for more information.

Recognized Organizations

Click on a Recognized Organization below for contact information.

 American Bureau of Shipping
Hosny Sheteiwy
District Principal Surveyor
ABS Toronto
206-5500 North Service Road
Burlington, ON, L7L 6W6
Tel: (905) 483-3677
Fax: (905) 332-3007
E-mail: hsheteiwy@eagle.org
Neil Britt
Principal Surveyor
Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 651-3784
E-mail: nbritt@eagle.org
Eugene Cai
Principal Surveyor
ABS Vancouver
305-850 Harbourside Dr.
North Vancouver, BC, V7P 0A3
Tel: (604) 760-0359
Fax: (604) 986-0819
E-mail: ecai@eagle.org
Bureau Veritas
André Laroche
Vice-President, Principal Surveyor for Canada
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
14-410 Rue Saint-Nicolas
Montreal, QC, H2Y 2P5
Tel: (514) 288-6515
Tel: (418) 878-2678
Cel: (581) 888-7075
E-mail: andre.laroche@ca.bureauveritas.com
Jocelyn Roussel
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
14-410 Rue Saint-Nicolas
Montreal, QC, H2Y 2P5
Tel : (514) 288-6515
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (438) 823-8285
E-mail: jocelyn.roussel@ca.bureauveritas.com
Darrell Ashley
Principal Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
16 Oxer Close
Hammond Plains, NS, B4B 2B8
Cell: 902-209-3887
E-mail: Darrell.ashley@ca.bureauveritas.com
Gilles-Etienne Cote
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
152 rue Doris Lussier
Saint Augustin de Desmaures, QC G3A 2T8
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (418) 609-5972
E-mail: gilles-etienne.cote@ca.bureauveritas.com
Hervé Drévillon
Surveyor
Bureau Veritas (Canada) Inc.
152 rue Doris Lussier
Saint Augustin de Desmaures, QC G3A 2T8
Tel : (418) 878-2678
Cell: (418) 802-6258
E-mail: herve.drevillon@ca.bureauveritas.com
Vadim Airiants
Principal Surveyor
801 - 535 Thurlow Street,
Vancouver, BC, V6E 3L2
Tel : (604) 689-1355
Cell.: (604) 729-1948
Fax : (604) 689-1356
E-mail: vadim.airiants@ca.bureauveritas.com
Rogier Rust
Principal Surveyor
801 - 535 Thurlow Street,
Vancouver, BC, V6E 3L2
Tel : (604) 689-1355
Cell.: (778) 994-2824
Fax : (604) 689-1356
E-mail: rogier.rust@ca.bureauveritas.com
ClassNK
Mr. Ryosuke Okabe
Country Manager
902 - 700 Pender St. W
Vancouver, BC, V6C 1G8
Tel: (604) 685-2121
Fax: (604) 685-7631
Cell: (604) 230-9687
E-Mail: r-okabe@classnk.or.jp
Office: vc@classnk.or.jp
DNV GL
Khodabakhsh (Bakhshi) Farsi
Station Manager Halifax
900-99 Wyse Road
Dartmouth, NS, B3A 4S5
Tel: (902) 464-0905
Fax: (902) 464-0516
Cell: (902) 221-2738
E-mail: Khodabakhsh.Farsi@dnvgl.com
Office: halifax.maritime@dnvgl.com
Burhan Ozan
Station Manager
100 - 4100 Molson
Montreal, QC, H1Y 3N1
Tel: (514) 861-0660
Fax: (514) 861-7557
Cell: (514) 974-1658
E-mail: burhan.ozan@dnvgl.com
Office: montreal.maritime@dnvgl.com
Paul Kelly
Senior Surveyor
200 – 121 Kelsey Drive
St. John's, NL, A1B 0L2
Tel: (709) 733-3131
Fax: (709) 733-3130
Cell: (709) 687-1582
E-mail: paul.kelly@dnvgl.com
Office: st.johns.maritime@dnvgl.com
Sunil Kale
Station Manager
804 - 1112 Pender St. W.
Vancouver, BC, V6E 2S1
Tel: (604) 689-7425
Fax: (604) 689-7450
Cell: (604) 657 9149
E-mail: sunil.kale@dnvgl.com
Office: vancouver.maritime@dnvgl.com
Korean Register
Kwan-Soo Do
General Manager, Vancouver Office
205 E 8th Street
North Vancouver, BC, V7L 1Y9
Tel: (604) 770-1227
Cell: (778) 986-7194
E-mail: ksdo@krs.co.kr
Office: vancouver@krs.co.kr
Jeong-chong Jeon
General Manager,
Convention & Legislation Service Team
36, Myeongji Ocean City 9-ro,
Gangseo-gu, Busan, 618-814,
Rep. of Korea
Tel: +82 70 8799 8333
Cell: +82 10 5422 1372
Fax: +82 70 8799 8339
E-mail: convention@krs.co.kr
Lloyd's Register
Barry Shepherd
Marine Business Development Manager
Great Lakes, Quebec and Atlantic Canada
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
506 - 5420 North Service Road,
Burlington, ON, L7L 6C7
Tel: (905) 631-9420
Fax: (905) 631-9430
E-mail: barry.shepherd@lr.org
Ben Thompson
Marine Business Development Manager
Western Canada
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
501 - 221 West Esplanade,
North Vancouver, BC, V7M 3J3
Tel: (604) 985-0477
Fax: (604) 985-0637
E-mail: ben.thompson@lr.org
RINA Services, SpA
Richard Breton
Country Manager
RINA Services SpA
605-6020 Jean Talon Est,
Montreal, QC H1S 3B1
Tel: 514-866-1801
Fax: 514-866-1259
Cell: 418-564-3703
E-mail: Richard.Breton@rina.org
Office: montreal.office@rina.org
Laval J. Ho-Wo-Cheong
Marine Manager
RINA Classification and Certification Canada Limited
605 - 6020 Jean Talon Est,
Montreal, QC, H1S 3B1
Tel: (514) 866-9494
Fax: (514) 866-1259
Cell: (514) 431-3910
E-mail: laval.howocheong@rina.org
Date modified: