Delegation of Statutory Inspection and Certification

Transport Publication - TP 13585 E

Marine Safety Management System - Policy
TP 13585 E (Online Manual)


Transport Canada signed a number of formal agreements with certain classification societies covering the delegation of statutory inspection and certification functions under the Canada Shipping Act 2001. These agreements are applicable to vessels in class with one of these recognized societies and cover existing Canadian-registered vessels, new vessels under construction and vessels being transferred to Canadian registry. These delegation agreements encompass most of the surveys and certification required under the Canada Shipping Act 2001 and its regulations, as well as under the international Conventions to which Canada is signatory. Where existing regulations under the Canada Shipping Act 2001 refer to specific ship classification societies being authorized to carry out certain statutory functions that are now addressed in these delegation agreements, it is intended that these regulations will be revoked or amended in future to acknowledge the authorizations granted under these formal agreements. 

These delegation agreements include certification for the International Safety Management (ISM) Code under the Safety Management Regulations. Subsequently, the five ship classification societies are authorized to issue the certification required under the Safety Management Regulations for Canadian-registered ships and companies.

Formal agreements covering the delegation of statutory inspection and certification functions are signed with the following Classification Societies: 

  • Lloyd's Register of Shipping;  
  • American Bureau of Shipping; 
  • Germanischer Lloyd; 
  • Det Norske Veritas; and
  • Bureau Veritas.

The related implementation policy can be viewed on the Marine Safety website at Delegated Statutory Inspection Programme.

Date modified: