Consultation meetings

Review of the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, 1992

Consultation meetings

The process for the review of the TDG Act has been arranged so that all aspects can be mediated entirely through Web interaction and electronic mail.

Participants may also use regular mail and telephone.

In addition, we are holding public consultation meetings and accepting invitations from interested groups affected by the application of the TDG Act. For example, we can give a talk or take questions during a session at their annual meeting.

Do not hesitate to invite us. Please understand, however, that our capacity to accept invitations will depend on several factors, in particular, the availability of people and resources (for example, travelling expenses).

Past Meetings (Public or Non-public)

Click on the links below to view meeting summaries and presentations

Scarborough, Ontario, Monday, March 22nd, 2004: launch of the public consultation.

Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers, Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004

Montreal, Quebec, Wednesday, May 12th, 2004

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Friday, May 14th, 2004

Vancouver, British Columbia, Tuesday, May 18th, 2004

Edmonton, Alberta, Thursday, May 20th, 2004

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Tuesday, May 25th, 2004

Sudbury, Ontario, Thursday, May 27th, 2004

St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, Tuesday, July 6th , 2004


We apologize to individuals in the Atlantic and Quebec regions who did not receive prior notification of the meetings. We will try to make convenient arrangements as part of our second round of meetings in the fall. Please revisit the site for updates on future meeting locations and dates.

Upcoming Meetings (public only)

Warning:  Dates and locations are subject to change.

Second Round in October 2004

We will be hosting a second round of meetings to review the issues identified and discuss possible options. We would like to invite you to participate in the upcoming session in your region.

Your feedback and comments are the focus of the consultation. Please familiarize yourself with the new consultation documents. Your comments are welcome at the meetings, by mail, phone or email.

City, Province Location
Montreal, QC October 6th, 2004 10:00 am
800 René-Lévesque Ouest (No 1-2)
Montreal, Quebec
Québec City, QC October 7th, 2004 10:00 am
Best Western City Centre Québec
330 De La Couronne St., Québec
Winnipeg, MB October 14th, 2004 10:00 am
Greenwood Inn
1715 Wellington Ave.
Moncton, NB October 18th, 2004 10:00 am
Coastal Inn Champlain
502 Kennedy Street, Dieppe
Halifax (Dartmouth), NS October 20th, 2004 10:00 am
Ramada Park Plaza
240 Brownlow, Dartmouth
Victoria, BC October 25th, 2004 10:00 am
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
345 Quebec Street, Victoria
Regina, SK October 26th, 2004 10:00 am
Regina Inn, Hotel and Conference Centre
1975 Broad Street, Regina
Calgary, AB October 28th, 2004 10:00 am
Calgary Telus Convention Centre
120 Ninth Avenue SE
Mississauga, ON
(Formerly Waterloo)
November 3rd, 2004 10:00 am
Best Western Toronto Airport West
5825 Dixie Road, Mississauga

Closing Meeting

City, Province Location
Ottawa, ON November 9th, 2004
Marriot Hotel, Laurier Salon
100 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario
* This public consultation session is not part of the TDG Congress (November 8th and 9th)

Registration

Advanced registration is not required.  However, it may prove useful.

To register for a meeting, send an email to TDGAct@tc.gc.ca with the subject line:

Pre-registration, Consultation meeting of (town).

In the message, provide the following information:

Name, affiliation (company, group, association), nature of interest (transportation, manufacturing, environment).

email address, do you want your address to be added to our electronic mailing list?

Do you wish to make a presentation?  What will be the topic(s)?

Can you email us a copy of your presentation? (can be sent separately and later)

May we post your presentation (or a summary) on our Web page?

Presentations

After a presentation on the TDG Act and on the review process, there will be 10 minute presentations from participants who wish to present their comments.

Presentations will normally be done in the order of registration.  However, if we know that there are many presentations on a specific topic, we may group them on the schedule.

All presentations sent to us will be analyzed for the Review, whether the presentation is read out loud at the meeting or not.  It will also be possible to send us long presentations, then offer a 10 minute or shorter summary at the meeting.

Finally, it will always be possible to send us comments without having to prepare or make a formal presentation (comments to TDGAct@tc.gc.ca).

(718605 – 716390)

Date modified: