Corrections to the Emergency Response Guidebook

Corrections to the ERG2016

  1. ERRATA on page 296 of the ENGLISH version only: For UN1051 (Hydrocyanic acid, aqueous solutions, with more than 20% Hydrogen cyanide / Hydrogen cyanide, anhydrous, stabilized / Hydrogen cyanide, stabilized), there is an error with one of the distances found in Table 1 - Initial Isolation and Protective Action Distances. In the section LARGE SPILLS for DAY, the correct distance should be 1.1 km (and not 3.7 km). This modification do not apply to UN1051 - AC (when used as a weapon).
    ERRATA on page 296 of the ENGLISH version only

  2. ERRATA on page 13 of the ENGLISH and FRENCH version: There is an error with the Guide Number assigned to the image of the Compressed Gas/Tube Trailer. The correct Guide number should be Guide 117 (and not Guide 137).
    ERRATA on page 13 of the ENGLISH and FRENCH version
  3. ERRATA on page 13 of the SPANISH version only: There is an error in the descriptive text for the DOT412, TC412, SCT312, MC312, TC312 road trailer. The last bullet indicates the wrong pressure. The pressure should be 15 psi (and not 25 psi).
    ERRATA on page 13 of the SPANISH version only
  4. ERRATA on page 383 of the SPANISH version only: There is an error in the definition for "Grupo de compatibilidad". The last explosive compatibility group should have the letter S (and not the letter O).


Corrections to the ERG2012

  1. ERRATA on page 101 of the Spanish version only: For UN3446 (Nitrotoluenos, sólidos), there was an error with the assigned Guide number. It should be Guide 152 (and not Guide 151). This error is only present in the yellow pages of the Spanish version.

  2. ERRATA on pages 272-273 of the English version, on pages 266-267 of the French version and on pages 306-307 of the Spanish version: Guide 167 that used to refer to ID No. 9192, Fluorine, refrigerated liquid (cryogenic liquid), should have been removed (or pages left blank intentionally) from the ERG because this entry (ID no. 9192) doesn't exist anymore in the 2012 version of the Guidebook.

  3. ERRATA on page 127 of the French version only: For the product "Matière radioactive, colis de Type C, fissile" (UN3330), there was an error with the assigned Guide number. It should be Guide 165 (and not Guide 163). This error is only present in the Blue pages of the French version.

  4. ERRATA on page 366 of the English version, on page 350 of the French version and on page 412 of the Spanish version: The equation for the water flow is wrong. The correct equation should be:

    English version: 

     Water flow rate is based on 5 ( √capacity (USgal) ) = usgal/min needed to cool tank metal.

    French version:

    Le débit d'eau est basé sur l'équation suivante (règle empirique) : 5 ( √capacité (gal.US) ) = gal.US/min requis pour refroidir le métal du réservoir.

    Spanish version:

    Caudal de agua basado en 5 ( √capacidad (gal.US) ) = galones USA/min necesarios para enfriar el metal del tanque.
  5. ERRATA on page 367 of the English version and on page 413 of the Spanish version: There was an error with the conversion factor used to convert Litres to Gallons in the first column of the BLEVE Table. The correct values are found in the following tables:

    English version:

    Data table found on page 367 of the English version of the Emergency Response Guidebook 2012: BLEVE (Use with caution)

    Spanish version:

    Data table found on page 413 of the Spanish version of the Emergency Response Guidebook 2012: BLEVE (Uso con la precaución)
  6. ERRATA on page 364 of the English version, on page 349 of the French version and on page 410 of the Spanish version: In the last sentence of the paragraph under the title BLEVE, there was an error in the UN number for propylene. The sentence should be: LPGs include the following flammable gases; Butane, UN1011; Butylene, UN1012; Isobutylene, UN1055; Propylene, UN1077; Isobutane, UN1969; and Propane, UN1978.

Corrections to the ERG2008

1) IMPORTANT: A printing error has been reported that appears in a limited number of copies of the English version of the ERG2008 books. The error is that the first part of the blue section in the alphabetical listing from pages 97 to 128 has been duplicated and therefore appears twice. The alphabetical blue section that normally follows is missing (pages 129 to 160). Please verify your copy of the ERG2008 for accuracy and report any errors to CANUTEC at canutec@tc.gc.ca.

2) ERRATA on page 16 of all three versions (English, French and Spanish), the drawing for the Class 2.3 placards has been modified. The new placard for Ammonia, anhydrous (UN1005) should be displayed separately and refer to GUIDE 125.

Class 2.3 placards

3) ERRATA on page 144 of the English version. Please correct the entry on page 144 (fourth item) for "Petrol and ethanol mixture, with more than 10% ethanol". The ID No. in the Guidebook is written as 347. The correct ID No. should be 3475 and not 347. This error is only present in the english version of the Guidebook.

Corrections to the ERG2004

1) ERRATA on page 18 of the French and Spanish Guidebooks (only Spanish copies printed in the United States), the drawings depicting pressure and non-pressure tank cars were mistakenly interchanged.

The illustrations should appear as below in the French and Spanish Guidebooks:

French Version

Wagon-citerne

Spanish Version

Carrotanque

2) ERRATA on page 19 of all three versions (English, French and Spanish), the following codes: (MC306, TC306) that appear in parentheses under the top right drawing should read (TC341, CGA341) as per illustration below:

English Version

Cryogenic Liquid Tank

French Version

Liquides cryogéniques

Spanish Version

Autotanque para liquidos criogénicos

Corrections to the ERG2000

A mistake has been found in the english version of the 2000 Emergency Response Guidebook. Please correct the entry on page 360, under the ID No.1162 (first entry on the table). The Guide No. in the guidebook is 151. The correct Guide No. page should be 155 and not 151. This error is only present in the english version of the guidebook. The on-line and download version do not have this error. Please correct in your copy of the guidebook.

A mistake was found in Guide No. 167 for the online and downloadable versions, and not in the printed book. In section for Fire, the heading Small Fire was repeated. The second entry should have read Large Fire. This has been corrected. If you are using the downloadable version, we invite you to please download the new version.

Comments about the Emergency Response Guidebook

Constructive comments concerning the ERG2004 are solicited; in particular, comments concerning its use in handling incidents involving dangerous goods. Comments should be addressed to:

Director, CANUTEC
Transport Dangerous Goods
Transport Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A0N5

Phone: 613-992-4624 (information)
Fax: 613-954-5101
Email: canutec@tc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Corrections au guide des mesures d'urgence

Corrections au GMU2016

  1. ERRATA à la page 296 da la version ANGLAISE seulement : Pour UN1051 (Hydrocyanic acid, aqueous solutions, with more than 20% Hydrogen cyanide / Hydrogen cyanide, anhydrous, stabilized / Hydrogen cyanide, stabilized), il y a une erreur avec une des distances dans le Tableau 1 – distances d'isolation initiales et d'activités de protection. Dans la section LARGE SPILLS pour DAY, la distance exacte devrait être 1.1 km (et non pas 3.7 km). Cette modification ne s'applique pas à UN1051 - AC (when used as a weapon).

    ERRATA à la page 296 da la version ANGLAISE seulement
  2. ERRATA à la page 13 de la version FRANÇAISE et ANGLAISE : Il y a une erreur avec le numéro de Guide assigné pour l'image des Gaz Comprimés/cylindres. Le numéro de Guide exact devrait être Guide 117 (et non pas Guide 137).

    ERRATA à la page 13 de la version FRANÇAISE et ANGLAISE
  3. ERRATA à la page 13 de la version ESPAGNOLE seulement:  Il y a une erreur dans le texte descriptif pour la remorque DOT412, TC412, SCT312, MC312, TC312.  Le dernier point indique la mauvaise pression.  La pression devrait être 15 psi (et non 25 psi).

    ERRATA à la page 13 de la version ESPAGNOLE seulement
  4. ERRATA à la page 383 de la version ESPAGNOLE seulement: Il y a une erreur dans la définition pour « Grupo de compatibilidad ». Le dernier groupe de compatibilité pour les explosifs devrait être la lettre S (et non pas la lettre O).


Corrections au GMU2012

  1. ERRATA à la page 101 de la version espagnole seulement : Pour UN3446 (Nitrotoluenos, sólidos), il y a une erreur avec le numéro de Guide assigné. Le Guide devrait être Guide 152 (et non Guide 151). Cette erreur est seulement présente dans les pages jaunes de la version espagnole.

  2. ERRATA aux pages 272-273 de la version anglaise, aux pages 266-267 de la version française et aux pages 306-307 de la version espagnole: Le Guide 167 qui référait au NIP 9192, Fluor, liquide réfrigéré (liquide cryogénique), aurait dû être enlevé (ou les pages laissées blanches intentionnellement) du GMU car cette entrée (NIP 9192) n'existe plus dans la version 2012 du Guide.

  3. ERRATA à la page 127 de la version française seulement: Pour le produit "Matière radioactive, colis de Type C, fissile" (UN3330), il y a une erreur avec le numéro de Guide assigné. Le Guide devrait être Guide 165 (et non Guide 163). Cette erreur est seulement présente dans les pages bleues de la version française.

  4. ERRATA à la page 366 de la version anglaise, à la page 350 de la version française et à la page 412 de la version espagnole: L'équation pour le débit d'eau est erronée. L'équation exacte devrait être:

    Version anglaise :

    Water flow rate is based on 5 ( √capacity (USgal) ) = usgal/min needed to cool tank metal.

    Version française:

    Le débit d'eau est basé sur l'équation suivante (règle empirique) : 5 ( √capacité (gal.US) ) = gal.US/min requis pour refroidir le métal du réservoir.

    Version espagnole:

    Caudal de agua basado en 5 ( √capacidad (gal.US) ) = galones USA/min necesarios para enfriar el metal del tanque.
  5. ERRATA à la page 367 de la version anglaise et à la page 413 de la version espagnole: Dans la première colonne du tableau BLEVE, il y a eu une erreur avec le facteur de conversion utilisé pour convertir les Litres en Gallons. Les valeurs exactes sont dans les tableaux suivants:

    Version anglaise :

    Page 367 de la version anglaise du Guide des mesures d'urgences 2012 : Tableau BLEVE (Use with caution)



    Version espagnole :

    Page 413 de la version espagnole du Guide des mesures d'urgences 2012 : Tableau BLEVE (Uso con la precaución)

  6. ERRATA à la page 364 de la version anglaise, à la page 349 de la version française et à la page 410 de la version espagnole: Dans la dernière phrase du paragraphe sous le titre BLEVE, il y a une erreur avec le numéro UN pour le propylène. La phrase devrait être: Les GPLs incluent les gaz inflammables suivants: Butane, UN1011; Butylène, UN1012; Isobutylène, UN1055; Propylène, UN1077; Isobutane, UN1969; et le Propane, UN1978.

Corrections au GMU2008

1)  IMPORTANT: Une erreur d'impression s'est produite lors de l'assemblage d'un nombre limité de copies de la version anglaise du GMU2008. L'erreur est dans la première partie de la section bleue (l'index alphabétique des pages 97 à 128) qui a été insérée deux fois. La deuxième partie de la section bleue (pages 129 à 160) est manquante. Veuillez vérifier votre copie anglaise du GMU2008 et rapporter toute erreur à CANUTEC (canutec@tc.gc.ca).

2) ERRATA à la page 16 de toutes les versions (anglaise, française et espagnole), le dessin pour les plaques de la classe 2.3 a été modifié. La nouvelle plaque pour l'ammoniac anhydre (UN1005) devrait apparaître seule et se référer au GUIDE 125.

plaques de la classe 2.3

3) ERRATA à la page 144 de la version anglaise. SVP corrigez à la page 144 (4ième item) sous "Petrol and ethanol mixture, with more than 10% ethanol". Le NIP (ID No.) indiqué dans le Guide est 347. Le bon NIP devrait être 3475 et non 347. Cette erreur est présente seulement dans la version anglaise du Guide.

Corrections au GMU2004

Veuillez noter: Les exemplaires en version anglaise sont précis.

1) ERRATA à la page 18 des versions française et espagnole (seuls les exemplaires en version espagnole imprimés aux États-Unis) : les illustrations montrant les wagons-citernes pressurisés et non pressurisés ont été interchangées par erreur.

Les illustrations devraient apparaître comme suit dans le guide des versions française et espagnole:

Version française

Wagon-citerne

Version espagnole

Carrotanque

2) ERRATA à la page 19 de toutes les versions du guide (anglaise, française et espagnole), remplacer les codes MC306 et TC306 par TC341 et CGA 341 qui se trouvent entre parenthèses sous l'illustration en partie supérieure droite.

Version française

Liquides cryogéniques

Version anglaise

Cryogenic Liquid Tank

Version espagnole

Autotanque para liquidos criogénicos

Corrections au GMU2000

Une erreur a été trouvée dans la version anglaise du guide. S.V.P. corrigez à la page 360, sous "ID No.1162" (première ligne dans le tableau). Le No. de Guide indiqué dans le guide est 151. La bonne page du guide devrait être 155 et non 151. Cette erreur est présente seulement dans la version anglaise du guide. La version branchée et téléchargeable ne contiennent pas cette erreur. S.V.P corrigez votre copie du guide.

Une erreur a été trouvée dans la version anglaise du guide. Dans la version branchée et téléchargeable(ERGO) du GMU2000(et la version imprimée), il y a une erreur à la page guide 167. Sous la section "Fire", la rubrique "Small Fire" est répétée. La deuxième rubrique devrait indiquée "Large Fire". Ceci a été corrigé. Pour ceux qui utilise la version téléchargeable, nous vous invitons de télécharger la nouvelle version.

Commentaires à propos du guide

Nous sollicitons les commentaires constructifs concernant le GMU2008, notamment en ce qui concerne son utilité lors des incidents liés à la manutention des marchandises dangereuses.  Faire parvenir ses commentaires aux adresses suivantes :

Chef, CANUTEC
Transport des marchandises dangereuses
Transports Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada K1A 0N5

Téléphone: 613-992-4624 (renseignements)
Télécopieur: 613-954-5101
Courriel: canutec@tc.gc.ca

Date de modification :