CANUTEC is the Canadian Transport Emergency Centre operated by the Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) Directorate of Transport Canada. The Directorate’s overall mandate is to promote public safety in the transportation of dangerous goods by all modes. CANUTEC was established in 1979 and is one of the major safety programs Transport Canada delivers to promote the safe movement of people and goods throughout Canada.

CANUTEC is a national advisory service that assists emergency response personnel in handling dangerous goods emergencies on a 24/7 basis. The emergency centre is staffed by bilingual scientists specializing in chemistry or a related field and trained in emergency response. The emergency response advisors are experienced in interpreting technical information from various scientific sources including Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) in order to provide pertinent and timely advice.

The centre also offers a free 24-hour emergency telephone service for Canadian consignors who wish to use CANUTEC’s 24-hour number (1-888-CAN-UTEC (226-8832) or 613-996-6666) on their dangerous goods shipping documents. A consignor must first register with CANUTEC and submit pertinent contacts and Material Safety Data Sheets before receiving authorization to use CANUTEC’s number.

CANUTEC deals with approximately 1,000 emergency situations yearly and handles over 25,000 telephone calls per year.


Using the computerized information network accessible to them as well as their professional experience, judgement and knowledge, CANUTEC’s advisors can provide immediate advice over the phone and recommend actions to be taken, and those to avoid, in dangerous goods emergencies. All the technical documents can be sent by e-mail or fax to the site of an incident. Please note that CANUTEC advisors do not go to the scene of an incident. Here are the types of information or services that can be obtained by calling CANUTEC:

Emergency Response Services

  • chemical, physical and toxicological properties of dangerous goods;
  • possible product incompatibilities and stabilities;
  • health hazards and first aid measures;
  • fire, explosion, spill or leak mitigation techniques;
  • remedial actions for the protection of life, property and the environment;
  • isolation and evacuation distances;
  • donning of personal protective clothing and equipment and their decontamination procedures;
  • coordination of communications with consignor, government or medical specialists;
  • quick access to a vast national and international resource network which includes the industrial sector, emergency response teams, private response contractors, mutual aid groups, federal and provincial response specialists and other emergency centres; and
  • over 2 million Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).


  • free registration of Canadian consignors for the use of CANUTEC’s emergency phone number on shipping documents.

Other Services

  • transportation of dangerous goods regulatory information;
  • participation with fire departments, public authorities and industry during their training exercises;
  • awareness of the Emergency Response Assistance Plans (ERAPs).

Emergency Response Guidebook (ERG)

CANUTEC has been extensively involved in the production of the Emergency Response Guidebook (ERG), which is the result of an International collaborative effort between Canada, the United States, Mexico and Argentina. Initiated under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), this project improves communication during hazardous incidents between the four countries by harmonizing emergency response recommendations for transportation incidents. A new guidebook is published every 4 years to reflect any changes in emergency response procedures and to update material names and ID Numbers (UN numbers). The policy for the free distribution of the guidebook is one (1) per emergency vehicle (for example: municipal fire department, police, ambulance). The ERG is also available free of charge in various electronic formats on CANUTEC’s website. The guidebook can also be purchased from various companies (see CANUTEC’s website).

Reporting Requirements

Federal Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations require that CANUTEC be contacted in the event of a dangerous goods incident involving the rail, marine and aviation transportation modes as well as for dangerous goods included in class 1 (explosives), class 6.2 (infectious substances) and any accidental release from a cylinder that has suffered a catastrophic failure.

For further information, please contact CANUTEC at:

330 Sparks Street
Place de Ville, Tower C
14th floor, Suite 1415
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0N5


General/Regulatory inquiries: (613) 992-4624

Emergency: 1-888-CAN-UTEC (226-8832) or
(613) 996-6666 (collect calls are accepted) or
by cellular phone (in Canada Only)

Fax: (613) 954-5101

Date modified:

Services

CANUTEC est le Centre canadien d'urgence transport qui relève de la Direction générale du transport des marchandises dangereuses (TMD) de Transports Canada. Le mandat principal de la Direction est de promouvoir la sécurité du public lors du transportde marchandises dangereuses par tous les modes de transport. CANUTEC a été établi en 1979 et constitue l'un des principaux programmes élaborés par Transports Canada visant à promouvoir la sécurité lors du déplacement des personnes et des marchandises au Canada.

CANUTEC est un service de consultation national qui vient en aide aux intervenants lors d'urgences mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, et ce 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Le centre d'urgence est composé de scientifiques bilingues spécialisés en chimie, ou dans un domaine connexe, et qui ont reçu de la formation en intervention d'urgence. Les conseillers en intervention d'urgence sont qualifiés pour interpréter l'information technique provenant de différentes sources scientifiques, incluant les fiches signalétiques, afin de donner des conseils pertinents en temps opportun.

Le centre offre aussi un service gratuit de réponse téléphonique d'urgence 24 heures par jour pour les expéditeurs canadiens qui désirent inscrire le numéro de téléphone 24 heures de CANUTEC (1-888-CAN-UTEC (226-8832) au 613-996-6666) sur leurs documents d'expédition de marchandises dangereuses. L'expéditeur doit préalablement s'inscrire auprès de CANUTEC et soumettre les coordonnées des personnes-ressources à contacter ainsi que des fiches signalétiques avant d'obtenir l'autorisation d'utiliser le numéro de téléphone.

CANUTEC traite approximativement 1 000 situations d'urgences annuellement et gère plus de 25 000 appels téléphoniques par année.

Services

Grâce au système informatisé et à leurs qualifications professionnelles, les conseillers de CANUTEC sont en mesure de fournir des conseils immédiats par téléphone et de recommander les mesures à prendre, ou à éviter, lors d'urgences impliquant des marchandises dangereuses. Toute la documentation technique peut-être transmise sur les lieux d'un incident par télécopieur ou par courriel. Il est à noter que le personnel de CANUTEC ne se rend pas sur les lieux d'un incident. CANUTEC offre de l'information, des conseils et des services dans les domaines suivants :

Intervention d'urgence

  • propriétés chimiques, physiques et toxicologiques des marchandises dangereuses;
  • incompatibilités et stabilités des produits;
  • premiers soins à prodiguer et les dangers pour la santé;
  • mesures d'atténuation pour un incendie, une explosion, un déversement ou une fuite;
  • mesures correctives pour la protection de la vie, des biens et de l'environnement;
  • distances d'isolation et d'évacuation;
  • port des vêtements de protection individuelle et d'équipement ainsi que les procédures de décontamination;
  • coordination de la communication avec les représentants de l'industrie, du gouvernement ou des spécialistes médicaux;
  • accès rapide à un éventail de ressources nationales et internationales qui comprend le secteur industriel, des équipes d'intervention d'urgence,des entrepreneurs privés en intervention, des groupes d'aide mutuelle, des spécialistes en intervention provinciaux et fédéraux ainsi que d'autres centres d'urgence;
  • plus de 2 millions de fiches signalétiques.

Inscription

  • inscription gratuite pour les expéditeurs canadiens qui veulent utiliser le numéro de téléphone d'urgence de CANUTEC sur leurs documents d'expédition.

Autres services

  • information réglementaire sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses;
  • participation avec les services d'incendie, les autorités publiques et l'industrie durant leurs exercices de formation;
  • sensibilisation aux Plans d'intervention d'urgence (PIU).

Guide des mesures d'urgence (GMU)

CANUTEC a été fortement impliqué dans la production du Guide des mesures d'urgence (GMU), qui est le résultat d'un projet international conjoint entre le Canada, les États-Unis, le Mexique et l'Argentine. L'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) a entrepris ce projet en ayant comme objectifs l'amélioration et l'harmonisation des recommandations en intervention d'urgence pour les incidents de transport. Un nouveau Guide est publié aux 4 ans pour refléter les changements dans les procédures d'intervention d'urgence et pour mettre à jour les numéros d'identification (numéros UN) et les noms des matières. La politique pour la distribution gratuite du guide est de un (1) par véhicule d'urgence (par exemple : service d'incendie municipal, police,ambulance). Le GMU est également disponible gratuitement sous divers formats électroniques sur le site internet de CANUTEC. Le Guide peut aussi être acheté auprès de distributeurs commerciaux (voir site internet de CANUTEC).

Exigences relatives aux rapports

En vertu du Règlement fédéral sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses, CANUTEC doit être avisé de tout incident mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses transportées par mode routier, ferroviaire ou maritime lorsque l’incident entraine :

  • Le décès d’une personne;
  • Des blessures à une personne qui ont nécessité des soins médicaux immédiats;
  • L’évacuation de personnes ou leur mise à l’abri;
  • La fermeture d’une installation utilisée pour le chargement ou le déchargement de marchandises dangereuses;
  • La fermeture d’une route, d’une ligne de chemin de fer principale ou d’une voie navigable principale;
  • Un contenant a subi des dommages au point que l’intégrité de celui-ci est compromise, ou;
  • La longrine centrale continue ou la longrine centrale courte d’un wagon citerne est brisée ou le métal présente une fissure d’au moins 15 cm.

Les incidents par mode aérien doivent être rapportés à CANUTEC s’ils entrainent :

  • Le décès d’une personne ou des blessures;
  • Des dommages aux biens ou à l’environnement;
  • Des indices que l’intégrité du contenant a été compromise;
  • La mise en danger grave des personnes à bord d’un aéronef ou de l’aéronef lui-même;
  • L’évacuation de personnes ou leur mise à l’abri sur place, ou;
  • La fermeture d’un aérodrome, d’une installation de fret aérien ou d’une piste.

Pour de plus amples renseignements,veuillez vous adresser à :

CANUTEC
330 Sparks Street
Place de Ville, Tower C
14th floor, Suite 1415
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0N5
Canada

Téléphone :

Renseignements généraux / réglementaires :
613-992-4624

Urgences: 1-888-CAN-UTEC (226-8832) ou
613-996-6666 (à frais virés) ou
*666
par cellulaire (Canada seulement)

Télécopieur : 613-954-5101

Courrier électronique : canutec@tc.gc.ca

Site internet : www.tc.gc.ca/fra/canutec/menu.htm

Date de modification :