Transport Canada on Facebook

Transport Canada is responsible for transportation policies and programs. We promote safe, secure, efficient and environmentally-responsible transportation.

Transport Canada’s Facebook accounts (Transport Canada and Transports Canada) are a great way to interact with the department and learn about everything from float plane safety to how to keep your child safe in your car. We look forward to sharing information with you beyond the usual government web experience, but always encourage visits to our website for more detailed information.

The use of Facebook by Transport Canada is intended to encourage interaction between the user of this platform and Transport Canada, and in no way verifies or confirms either the accuracy of user comments or their compliance with the Terms of Use outlined here. Transport Canada does not endorse any of the views in comments posted by users. Comments in violation of these Terms of Use may result in Transport Canada deleting the comment and blocking the user in question to prevent further inappropriate comments.

Content

The Transport Canada Facebook accounts are mainly used as an alternative method for accessing the material posted in Transport Canada’s ATOM Feeds and websites. Viewers of and those who “like” the Transport Canada Facebook accounts can expect to see notifications of news releases and other Transport Canada updates, as well as reposts of select information of value to our viewers.

Links to Other Websites and Ads

From time to time the Transport Canada Facebook accounts may post or display links or ads for websites that are not under the control of Transport Canada or the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of the users. Neither Transport Canada nor the Government of Canada is responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the content on these sites. Transport Canada does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links or ads, nor does it endorse the sites, businesses/products/services and/or their content.

Posting Frequency

The number of posts will vary; depending on the number of media articles and other relevant material published each day. During some periods, we may post more or less frequently than average. You should expect to see new posts on the Transport Canada Facebook Wall during regular working hours, Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT. Any activity during holidays, after core hours and on weekends would likely be along the lines of emergency or urgent communications of significant value to our Facebook community. Otherwise, the account will be relatively inactive during these times.

Availability

Transport Canada Facebook updates are also subject to downtime that may be out of Transport Canada’s control, because Facebook servers are managed by a third party. As such, we accept no responsibility for the Facebook network becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Use of "Like"

Transport Canada’s Facebook accounts are open to the public, so anyone with Internet access can view the content posted.

Facebook users can also "like" the Transport Canada accounts. In doing so they allow Transport Canada posts and updates to appear in their "newsfeed".

Transport Canada will not "friend" any individuals, or "like" any businesses that proactively "like" our account.

We will only take steps to remove or block users if they do not abide by these Terms of Use. Users may also be reported to Facebook if they do not comply to the service provider's terms of use.

You are required to have a valid Facebook account to "like" the Transport Canada accounts.

Use of "Share"

Transport Canada may share relevant material posted by other Government of Canada social media accounts and/or other content determined to be relevant to our Facebook community and of significant value. This may include research findings, statistics, relevant events and conferences, as well as cross-linking to information.

Favourite Pages

At this time, Transport Canada’s "Favourite Pages" only include other Government of Canada institutions and organizations that we believe are relevant to the mandate of our work – specifically, as it relates to transportation and infrastructure. This could include pages of non-profit organizations, associations and other governmental agencies.

The appearance of any particular page as a "favourite" of Transport Canada does not imply endorsement.

Wall Comments

Feedback and interaction is highly encouraged. All wall posts and comments, as well as email sent to the Facebook account will be read, and any emerging themes or helpful suggestions will be passed to the relevant people in the department. Although we are not able to reply individually to all messages, they will be handled on a case-by-case basis and responded to when deemed appropriate.

If we feel a comment or a question posed to Transport Canada requires a response and/or a greater level of detail, we may develop a formal response and distribute the information through other channels such as our website or other social media channels. We will pay attention to emerging themes and helpful suggestions and look forward to this potential interaction.

Reporters are asked to send questions to the appropriate individual in Media Relations.

Transport Canada cannot engage in issues of party politics or answer questions that break the rules of our commenting policy.

Accessibility

Facebook, as a third party service provider, is not bound by Government of Canada policies for web accessibility.

The Government of Canada is committed to achieving a high standard of accessibility and is working to address issues with third-party service provider platforms. For more information on accessibility and Facebook please visit: http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=440.

Copyright

Information posted by Transport Canada is subject to the Copyright Act of Canada. For more information, see the Important Notices page on the Transport Canada website.

Official Languages

Transport Canada respects the Official Languages Act and is committed to ensuring that information products are available in both French and English, of equal quality. Transport Canada's Facebook pages are available in both official languages. Simply view the appropriate Transport Canada Facebook page: in English on Transport Canada, and in French on Transports Canada.

Through the very nature of the social media forum, content will vary between the English and French Facebook accounts, particularly where messages and comments are concerned. Any comments that originate from Transport Canada will be made available in both official languages when it concerns both English and French communities. Comments and questions that require a response will be answered in the official language of origin.

Users should be aware that some links direct users to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and that these sources are only available in the language in which they are written.

Facebook.com is available in multiple languages including English and French. To change this user preference, go in your account settings and adjust accordingly.

Privacy

Transport Canada’s Facebook accounts are not Government of Canada websites and represent our presence on Facebook, a third-party service provider. Users are encouraged to read Facebook’s privacy policy.

Information shared with Transport Canada on Facebook is subject to the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, which means that the information may be accessed and disclosed in response to a request under either of these acts.

The personal information provided by you to Transport Canada’s social media accounts is collected under the authority of the Financial Administration Act (FAA), in accordance with the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. This information is being collected to capture conversations between you and Transport Canada via the Department’s social media accounts. “Conversations” include questions and answers, comments, “likes”, retweets and other interactions where you provide feedback on content that the Department has posted, or when the Department provides you with information based on content that you post. The personal information collected is described in Personal Information Bank entitled Public Communications (TC PSU 914). Under the provisions of the Privacy Act, individuals have the right of access to, correction of and protection of their personal information. Instructions for obtaining your personal information are provided in Info Source, a copy of which is available in major public and academic libraries or online at http://www.infosource.gc.ca.

To protect your own privacy and the privacy of others, Transport Canada recommends that you do not include personal information in your comments or other content you post. Personal information includes home addresses and telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, and any other information consisting of personal information as defined in paragraph 3 of the Privacy Act. Should you have any questions about your privacy rights as explained in these Terms of Use, please contact the departmental Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator.

Additional Information

If you are looking for more information about the Department, please consult our website.

The usual ways of contacting us for official correspondence are detailed in the Contact Us section of our website.

If you have questions about this policy, please contact socialmedia-mediassociaux@tc.gc.ca.

Contact information

Transport Canada's Facebook accounts (Transport Canada and Transports Canada) are managed by the Web Services team in the Communications and Marketing Group of Transport Canada, located at:

330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0N5
Email: socialmedia-mediassociaux@tc.gc.ca

For further contact details, please see the Contact Us page on Transport Canada's website.

For media enquiries

Media representatives can contact Transport Canada's Communications and Marketing Group during regular working hours and on an emergency basis after regular working hours.

Thank you for taking the time to read this policy. We encourage your participation in our discussion and look forward to an active exchange of ideas.

Date modified:

Transports Canada sur Facebook

Transports Canada est responsable des politiques et des programmes du secteur des transports. Nous promouvons le transport sûr, sécuritaire, efficace et respectueux de l'environnement.

Les comptes de médias sociaux de Transports Canada constituent un excellent moyen d’interagir avec le Ministère et d’en apprendre davantage, de la sécurité des hydravions à comment assurer la sécurité de votre enfant dans votre véhicule. Nous cherchons à communiquer des renseignements au-delà de l’expérience Web gouvernementale habituelle, mais nous vous invitons toujours à consulter notre site Web pour obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés.

L’utilisation des médias sociaux par Transports Canada vise à favoriser l’interaction entre l’utilisateur de cette plateforme et Transports Canada; le Ministère ne vérifie ni ne confirme d’aucune façon l’exactitude des commentaires des utilisateurs ou leur conformité avec les modalités d’utilisation établies aux présentes. Transports Canada ne souscrit à aucune opinion figurant dans les commentaires affichés par les utilisateurs. Transports Canada peut supprimer les commentaires qui contreviennent à ces modalités d’utilisation et bloquer l’utilisateur en question pour l’empêcher de formuler d’autres commentaires inappropriés.

Contenu

Les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada sont principalement utilisés comme une autre méthode d’accès aux documents affichés sur les fils ATOM et les sites Web de Transports Canada. Les visiteurs et les personnes qui « aiment » les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada peuvent s’attendre à voir des avis de communiqués de presse et d’autres mises à jour de Transports Canada, ainsi que le réaffichage de renseignements choisis qui présentent un intérêt pour les visiteurs.

Liens vers d’autres sites Web et des annonces

Le cas échéant, les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada peuvent afficher ou présenter des liens ou des annonces pour des sites Web qui ne sont pas exploités par Transports Canada ou le gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont uniquement fournis pour accommoder les utilisateurs. Transports Canada et le gouvernement du Canada ne sont pas responsables de l’exactitude, de l’à-propos ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. Transports Canada n’offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n’est pas responsable des renseignements contenus dans ces liens ou ces sites, pas plus qu’il ne cautionne les sites, les entreprises, les produits, les services ou leur contenu.

Fréquence d'affichage

Le nombre d’affichages variera en fonction du nombre d’articles et d’autres documents pertinents publiés chaque jour. Pendant certaines périodes, nous pouvons afficher plus au moins fréquemment que la moyenne habituelle. Vous pouvez vous attendre à voir de nouveaux affichages sur le mur Facebook de Transports Canada pendant les heures de travail normales, du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 17 h HNE/HAE. Toute activité ayant lieu pendant les jours fériés, après la plage fixe et les fins de semaine, sera probablement liée à des communications d’urgence qui présentent un intérêt important pour les adeptes de Facebook. Autrement, les comptes seront relativement inactifs pendant ces périodes.

Disponibilité

Les mises à jour Facebook de Transports Canada peuvent également être retardées par des pannes sur lesquelles Transports Canada n’a aucune prise, puisque les serveurs Facebook sont gérés par un tiers. Ainsi, nous n’acceptons aucune responsabilité si le réseau Facebook ne répond plus ou s’il n’est pas disponible.

Utilisation de « j'aime » 

Les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada sont ouverts au public; par conséquent, toute personne qui dispose d’un accès Internet peut consulter le contenu affiché.

Les utilisateurs de Facebook peuvent également utiliser la fonction « j’aime » sur les comptes de Transports Canada. En le faisant, ils autorisent Transports Canada à publier et à afficher des mises à jour dans leur distributeur de nouvelles.

Transports Canada ne deviendra pas « ami » avec quiconque, et n’utilisera pas la fonction "j’aime" pour toute entreprise qui « aime » son compte.

Nous ne prendrons des mesures que pour supprimer ou bloquer les utilisateurs qui ne respectent pas ces modalités d’utilisation. Les utilisateurs peuvent également être signalés à Facebook s’ils ne respectent pas les modalités d'utilisation du fournisseur de services.

Vous devez posséder un compte Facebook valide pour « aimer » les comptes de Transports Canada.

Utilisation de la fonctionf « partager »

Transports Canada peut partager des documents pertinents affichés par les autres comptes de médias sociaux du gouvernement du Canada ou le contenu jugé pertinent et important pour les adeptes de Facebook. Cela peut comprendre des conclusions de recherche, des statistiques, des conférences et des événements pertinents, ainsi que des liens croisés vers de l’information.

Pages favorites

En ce moment, les « pages favorites » de Transports Canada comprennent uniquement d’autres organismes et institutions du gouvernement du Canada qui, selon nous, correspondent à notre mandat, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne les transports et les infrastructures. Les pages favorites pourraient comprendre des organismes sans but lucratif, des associations et d’autres organismes gouvernementaux.

La présence d’une page particulière dans les pages « favorites » de Transports Canada n’indique aucune forme de cautionnement de la part de Transports Canada.

Commentaires sur le mur

Les commentaires et l’interaction sont vivement encouragés. L’ensemble des publications et des commentaires sur le mur, ainsi que les courriels envoyés aux comptes Facebook seront lus, et tous les nouveaux thèmes et toutes les suggestions utiles seront acheminés aux personnes concernées au sein du Ministère. Bien que nous ne soyons pas en mesure de répondre individuellement à tous les messages, ceux-ci seront traités au cas par cas et nous y répondrons lorsque nous le jugerons approprié.

Si nous jugeons qu’un commentaire ou une question posée à Transports Canada exige une réponse ou davantage d’éclaircissement, nous pourrions formuler une réponse officielle et diffuser l’information par l’intermédiaire de nos autres canaux, comme notre site Web ou d’autres médias sociaux. Nous serons attentifs aux nouveaux thèmes et aux suggestions utiles et nous attendons avec impatience cette éventuelle interaction.

Nous demandons aux journalistes d’envoyer leurs questions à la personne compétente dans la section Relations avec les médias.

Transports Canada ne peut pas participer à des débats de politique partisane ni répondre à des questions qui contreviennent aux règles de notre politique sur les commentaires.

Accessibilité

Facebook, à titre de fournisseur de services tiers, n’est pas lié par les politiques du gouvernement du Canada en matière d’accessibilité du Web.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à assurer un niveau élevé d'accessibilité et travaille avec les tiers fournisseurs de services afin de résoudre les problèmes à cet égard. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’accessibilité et Facebook, veuillez consulter le lien suivant : http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=440.

Droits d’auteur

Les renseignements publiés par Transports Canada sont assujettis à la Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Avis importants du site Web de Transports Canada.

Langues officielles

Transports Canada respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et s’engage à s’assurer que l’information soit offerte en français et en anglais et de qualité équivalente. Les pages Facebook de Transports Canada sont disponibles dans les deux langues officielles. Il suffit de consulter la page Facebook de Transports Canada appropriée : en anglais sur Transport Canada, et en français sur Transports Canada.

En raison de la nature des médias sociaux, le contenu des comptes Facebook en français et en anglais sera différent, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux messages et aux commentaires. Tous les commentaires provenant de Transports Canada seront disponibles dans les deux langues officielles s’ils concernent les communautés francophone et anglophone. On répondra aux commentaires et aux questions qui exigent une réponse dans la langue officielle d’origine.

Les utilisateurs doivent être conscients que certains liens dirigent les utilisateurs vers des sites d’organismes ou d’autres entités qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et que ces sources sont uniquement disponibles dans la langue dans laquelle elles ont été rédigées.

Facebook.com est disponible dans plusieurs langues, y compris le français et l’anglais. Pour modifier cette préférence de l’utilisateur, consultez les paramètres de votre compte et réglez-les en conséquence.

Confidentialité

Les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada ne sont pas des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada et constituent notre présence sur Facebook, un fournisseur de services tiers. Les utilisateurs sont invités à lire la Politique de confidentialité de Facebook.

Les renseignements partagés avec Transports Canada sur Facebook sont assujettis aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ce qui signifie que les renseignements que vous partagez avec les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada peuvent être saisis, stockés, consultés et divulgués dans le cadre d’une demande présentée en vertu d’une de ces lois.

Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez aux comptes de médias sociaux de Transports Canada sont recueillis sous l’autorité de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Ces renseignements sont recueillis pour saisir les conversations entre vous et Transports Canada par le biais des comptes de médias sociaux du Ministère. Le terme « conversations » comprend les questions, les réponses, les commentaires, l’utilisation de la fonction « j’aime », les « retransmissions de microbillets (retweet) » et les autres interactions lors desquelles vous formulez des commentaires sur le contenu publié par le Ministère, ou lorsque le Ministère vous fournit des renseignements liés au contenu que vous publiez Les renseignements personnels recueillis sont décrits dans la banque de renseignements personnels appelée Communications publiques (TC PSU 914). En vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les gens ont le droit d’accéder à leurs renseignements personnels, de les corriger et de s’attendre à ce qu’ils soient protégés. Les instructions pour obtenir les renseignements personnels que vous avez fournis sont accessibles dans Info Source, dont une copie est disponible dans les principales bibliothèques publiques et universitaires, ou en ligne à l’adresse http://www.infosource.gc.ca.

Pour protéger votre vie privée et celle des autres, Transports Canada recommande de ne pas inclure de renseignements personnels dans vos commentaires ou dans le contenu que vous publiez. Les renseignements personnels comprennent les adresses de domicile, les numéros de téléphone, les photos comportant des images de personnes identifiables et toute autre information comportant des renseignements personnels, selon la définition fournie à l'article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Si vous avez des questions à poser au sujet de vos droits en matière de confidentialité expliqués dans ces modalités d’utilisation, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur ministériel de l'Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du Ministère, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Les façons habituelles de communiquer avec nous dans le cadre d’une correspondance officielle sont indiquées à la section Contactez-nous de notre site Web.

Si vous avez des questions à poser au sujet de cette politique, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l’adresse mediassociaux-socialmedia@tc.gc.ca.

Coordonnées

Les comptes Facebook de Transports Canada (Transport Canada et Transports Canada) sont gérés par l’équipe des services web du Groupe de communications et marketing de Transports Canada, situé à l’adresse suivante :

330, rue Sparks
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0N5
Courriel : mediassociaux-socialmedia@tc.gc.ca

Pour obtenir les autres coordonnées ou pour poser une question, veuillez consulter la page Contactez-nous sur le site Web de Transports Canada.

Pour les demandes des médias

Les représentants des médias peuvent communiquer avec le Groupe de communications et marketing de Transports Canada durant les heures normales de bureau et en cas d'urgence après les heures normales de bureau.

Merci d’avoir pris le temps de lire cette politique. Nous vous encourageons à participer aux discussions et à échanger des idées avec nous.

Date de modification :