National Safety Code - Federal Co-funding

In 1987, the federal, provincial and territorial ministers responsible for transportation and highway safety agreed to develop and implement a National Safety Code (NSC) to encourage trucking safety, promote efficiency in the motor carrier industry, and achieve consistent safety standards in this area across Canada. The NSC was based on a consolidation of existing provincial and territorial legislation and regulations, supplemented with new initiatives designed to further enhance safety across the country.

Safety-related NSC standards cover carrier safety ratings, facility audits, driver and carrier profile systems, trip inspection reports, driver hours of service, commercial vehicle maintenance and inspections, and load securement. The code's administrative standards cover driver licensing, a classified driver licence system, medical standards, knowledge and performance testing, and a driver-examiner training program. More information concerning the NSC is available on the following website: or by contacting the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators at (613)736-1003.

From 1987 to 2012, the Government of Canada has contributed more than $90 million cumulatively to the provinces and territories towards the development and enforcement of NSC safety standards.  This includes a one-time contribution of $7.0 million for the upgrade and enhancement of technologically advanced provincial and territorial data management systems required to capture, integrate and transmit carrier, driver and vehicle data from roadside inspections and facility audits.

The most recent round of funding provides a further $26.7 million cumulatively for the period from 2009/10 to 2014/15 inclusively. Funds are directed towards motor carrier safety management and oversight activities across Canada in accordance with the NSC safety rating regime.

 Funding for the period 2009/10 to 2014/15 is allocated as follows:
British Columbia $2,925,606 New Brunswick $1,259,382
Alberta $2,521,104 Nova Scotia $1,349,616
Saskatchewan $1,376,064 Prince Edward Island $ 966,900
Manitoba $1,466,298 Newfoundland and Labrador $1,148,922
Ontario $6,889,692 Yukon $915,558
Quebec $4,616,718 Northwest Territories $920,226
    CCMTA * $300,000

*Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators

Date modified: